A DAY IN THE LIFE... with Steve McCormick

Posted on Thursday, 17 September 2020
Steve McCormick Atex

My name is Steve McCormick and I have been working for Atex Ltd since February. Before coming to Atex I started my career with Thorn Lighting, and I was their service engineer for Nine years. Then I started my own business providing an after sales service for lighting manufactures for twenty years. Since then I have been working for Atex.” 

Q: What do you do in Atex ? 

Steve: Commission the lighting controls systems in Data centers across Ireland and Europe.

Q: What motivates you to wake up and go to work?

Steve: The work itself, I just enjoy a bit of a challenge and I enjoy working in the lighting industry. I also enjoy working for Atex. Its a great company to work for. I have worked in the lighting industry for most of my life and there’s always something new and interesting around the corner”

Q: What has been your favorite project so far? 

Steve: I think Denmark, the data center in Denmark because it’s a huge site and it has thrown up a lot of challenges that I have managed to get through. So, I have to say that I quite enjoyed Denmark….. I enjoy a good challenge!

Q: What is something that you colleagues don’t know about you? 

Steve: So a couple of years ago I learned to Swim and crawl properly and shortly after having done that I had a chance conversation with a friend. I then decided to raise some money and awareness for a Diabetes UK. I swam the equivalent of the English channel which is 22 miles ….indoors in a swimming pool I might add.

Q: What are some of the things that you have gained from working with Atex? 

Steve: I suppose after working for myself after so long I was sort of cocooned into my own little world. It has been nice to work with Atex and to work with lots of different people and get into the world. It has given me a new outlook in life and a spring in my step!

Q: What do you do when you are not not working? 

Steve: I mostly spend time with my family. I love to spend time with my wife and two children. So, I would either be at home or out for a walk. Maybe do a bit of DIY or occasionally or go for a run if I get some time alone and just relax.